Entrance of the Weege house, 2008
Opening Hours
Weege house and Hexenbürgermeisterhaus, 2008

The name "Hexenbürgermeister" ("witch mayor") is reminiscent of Hermann Cothmann (1629-1683), mayor and jurist. He was an especially infamous "witch hunter". In the 19th century, the term "Hexenbürgermeisterhaus" was coined to describe the representative house in the street Breite Strasse, which - until the opening of the local history museum in 1926 - had always been a private residential house (and not a place of torture!).

"Hexenbürgermeisterhaus" is the second name given to the middle-class house, built between 1568 and 1571, in which the Municipal Museum of Lemgo is located, lying in the heart of the ancient city center. The house is one of the most significant historical buildings of Weserrenaissance architecture. After numerous restoration projects, many signs of its history can be found in the Hexenbürgermeisterhaus. Visitors can encounter fascinating stories of Lemgo's past during their tour through the museum.

Apart from the foundation of the city, Hanse, reformation, witch hunts and the voyages and work of the naturalist and doctor Engelbert Kaempfer (1651-1716), the exhibition also deals with the city's history in the 19th and 20th century.

Right in the heart of the ancient city center, the museum invites you to come explore the exhibition with original objects, old pictures, videos and modern media.